Department of Chemistry
The Department of Chemistry was established with the inauguration of the Faculty of Science in September 1967. A new building complex built in 1996 facilitated the expansion of the Department. The courses offered by the Department expanded from B.Sc.(General) degree to B.Sc.(Special) degree in Chemistry and a two year M.Sc. Programme in Industrial and Environmental Chemistry. In addition, introduction of Biochemistry courses with a link to the University of Glasgow through auspices of the British Council further enriched the courses offered by the Department.
Department of Industrial Management
Combining the fields of Management and Information Technology, the Department of Industrial Management meets the demands of global corporates. Its reputation for challenging the frontiers of knowledge with the support of an outstanding mix of academic faculty and world class facilities makes it an exciting, stimulating and fun place to learn and develop to your full potential in order to launch a successful professional career.
Department of Mathematics
The Department of Mathematics was formally established and since then has been teaching Pure Mathematics and Applied Mathematics as subjects for the Degree of Bachelor of Science (General). The Special Degree Programme was commenced subsequently with students specializing in one of the streams Pure Mathematics & Applied Mathematics, Pure Mathematics & Statistics and Mathematical Physics.
Department of Microbiology
The Department of Microbiology offers Microbiology as a main subject for the B.Sc. (General) Degree and B.Sc. (Special) Degree programmes. It offers two postgraduate programmes as well, a Postgraduate Diploma/ Master of Science programme in Applied Microbiology and a Postgraduate Diploma/ Master of Science programme in Food and Nutrition. Opportunities for graduate students to read for M.Phil. and Ph.D. by research are also available at the Department of Microbiology.
Department of Physics and Electronics
The Department of Physics and Electronics offers two BSc (Special) degree programmes; BSc (Special) degree in Physics and BSc (Special) degree in Mathematical Physics. BSc (Special) degree programme in Mathematical Physics is offered jointly with the Department of Mathematics and it is unique to the University of Kelaniya.
Department of Plant and Molecular Biology
The Department offers undergraduate courses in two separate academic disciplines viz. Botany, and Molecular Biology & Plant Biotechnology as well as opportunities for graduate studies in various subdisciplines. The innovative academic programmes conducted by well qualified and experienced academic staff provides students with the knowledge, flexibility and the skills needed for the 21st century.
Department of Statistics and Computer Science
The Department of Statistics and Computer Science was established in July 1999 with the objective of meeting the ever-increasing Statistics and Computer Science education needs of university students in particular, and the academic and industrial community in general. At present the Department of Statistics & Computer Science offers Statistics  and Computer Science as  subjects for the B.Sc.(General) Degree Programme and conducts two B.Sc.(Special) Degree programmes, one in Statistics and other in Computer Science. 
Department of Zoology and Environmental Management
The Department of Zoology and Environmental Management contributes to four B.Sc. degree programmes, viz B.Sc. (General) degree programme in Biological Sciences, B.Sc. (Special) degree programme in Zoology,  B.Sc. (General) degree programme in Environmental Conservation and Management and B.Sc. (Special) degree programme in Environmental Conservation and Management. Department also offers an M.Sc. programme in Aquaculture and Fisheries Management. 

Academic Units

Software Engineering Teaching Unit (SETU)
The Software Engineering Teaching Unit (SETU) was established in September 2017 with the objective of preparing students for successful careers in the field of Software Engineering by providing a thorough understanding of engineering methods and scientific principles. The unit conducts the Bachelor of Science Honours in Software Engineering degree which is the only degree program in software engineering offered in the state university system in Sri Lanka. SETU offers core and optional course modules leveraging aspects of computer science, engineering, and management. Through industrial training programs as well as student-centered activities, students are facilitated with experiential learning opportunities to successfully meet growing trends and demands in the national economy. Students will be given the opportunity to major in one of the six core domains which are; Net Centric Applications, Mobile Computing Applications, Data Science and Engineering Applications, Health Informatics Applications, Digital Gaming, and Animation Applications and Business Engineering Applications. 

Contact Us :

Faculty of Science,  
University of Kelaniya,
Dalugama, Kelaniya,
Sri Lanka, 11600.

Tel: +94 (0) 112 903 201
Fax: +94 (0) 112 903 203

Vacancies :

Upcoming Events:

Last Update on 27/04/2021 - ©2020 University of Kelaniya. All Rights Reserved. Designed By the Faculty Web Team - Faculty of Science