

### Gold medals August 2022

Gold medals were awarded to 12 undergraduates for the best performance in each Honours degree discipline. T I Punchipatabandi (Biochemistry), W R A D S Ranasinghe (Chemistry), P V G M Prasangika (Computer Science), C A S Ranasingha (Computer Studies), M A Angekumbura (Environmental Conservation and Management), B A S S B Jayawardhana (Management and Information Technology), M A G Madushika (Mathematics), M R F Zaithun (Microbiology), A S M G Senanayake (Molecular Biology and Plant Biotechnology), K G S N de Silva (Software Engineering), H M S D Wijekoon (Statistics) and L D K Perera (Zoology) won the gold medals.

# Donating an electric wheelchair to an undergraduate



The Alumni Association hosted donating an electric wheelchair to a first-year student in the biological science stream. The donation was fully sponsored by one of the vice presidents of the Association, Mr Kolitha Gunaratne and his wife. The event was held on 31<sup>st</sup> of August 2022 at 8.30 am in the main lobby of the Faculty of Science in the presence of the Vice Chancellor Senior Professor Nilanthi De Silva, the Dean of the Faculty of Science Senior Professor Sudath Kalingamudali and the members of the Alumni Association.

#### "Life as an Applied Microbiologist" An interactive session for undergraduates November 2022

The Alumni Association along with the Society of Microbiology and the Society of Plant and Molecular Biology organized an interactive session on "Life as an Applied Microbiologist" for undergraduates, on 4<sup>th</sup> November 2022. The resource person was Dr Nuwan Ruwani Withanage, a research scientist at the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (CSIRO), Australia.



# Donating a laptop computer to an undergraduate

October 2022

With the generous support of the members of the Alumni Association of Faculty of Science and Southlands College, Galle, a laptop computer that costs LKR 155,000 was donated to an undergraduate following the Environmental Conservation and Management (ENCM) degree programme.

## Alumni Association Scholarships and Prof Sudath Kalingamudali and his Family **Scholarships** November 2022 & December 2022



The scholarship award ceremonies organized by the Alumni Association of the Faculty of Science were held on 11<sup>th</sup> of November 2022 (round 1) and 30<sup>th</sup> December 2022 (round 2) at the Board Room of the Faculty of Science, University of Kelaniya. In this academic year (2020/2021), scholarships were awarded to 51 financially challenged yet academically sound undergraduates with the help of generous alumni members. 6 students received LKR 5000 per month, 24 students received LKR 2500 per month, 3 students received LKR 1500 per month and 18 students received LKR 6000 one-time scholarships.



In addition to above, in this year, a new scholarship scheme titled "Professor Sudath Kalingamudali and his Family Scholarship" which will continue each academic year, was introduced. 6 students were awarded the scholarship and each student receives LKR 5000 per month.

Awarding a merit scholarship to an undergraduate in the Faculty of Humanities December 2022

The Alumni Association of the Faculty of Science awarded a merit scholarship of LKR 5000 per month, to an especially talented undergraduate in the Department of Fine Arts (Visual Arts & Design and Performing Arts Unit), Faculty of Humanities, in a ceremony held on 5<sup>th</sup> December 2022. The Dean of the Faculty of Science Senior Professor S R D Kalingamudali, The Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies Senior Professor N A K P J Seneviratne, The Dean of the Faculty of Humanities Dr S Senerath, the academic staff members and the members of the Alumni Association graced the event.



### Renovation of the Family Medical Unit of Kiribathgoda Base Hospital



December 2022

The Family Medical Unit of the Kiribathgoda Base Hospital was renovated to meet the increased demand in healthcare services and to strengthen the quality of healthcare services provided. The cost of the project was LKR 509,000.

#### ALUMNI ASSOCIATION OF FACULTY OF SCIENCE COMMITTEE

President: Dr G S Wiiesiri Vice Presidents: Mr K S Gunaratne Dr C Kadigamuwa Mr B Vithanaarachchi

Immediate Past President: Prof K P R N Attanayake Joint Secretaries: Dr T Abeysinghe Dr H M Herath Dr H W B Kavinga

**Treasurer:** Mr G Andrahannadi Asst. Treasurer: Dr S V A Almeida Editor: Dr N V Chandrasekara Asst. Editor: Dr J Dahanayake

Committee Members: Mr U A Hapuarachchi, Mr G B Herath, Prof S R D Kalingamudali, Prof W A P J Premaratne, Dr C Pushpakumara, Prof C S K Rajapakse, Prof N A K P J Seneviratne, Prof H H Sumathipala, Dr K G H D Weerasinghe