The Senate Awards  ceremony which is an appreciation of the researchers of the University was held on 27 January 2016 in the Senate room.  Cash awards and certificates were awarded to academic members of  the faculties of Social Sciences,  Medicine, Science, Commerce and Management and the Humanities. Ms. NV Chandrasekera of the Department of Statistics and Computer Science was given the Senate Award.