About Us
Mission & Vision
Office Bearers
Member Area
News & Announcements
Photo Gallery
Contact Us

About Us


The Alumni Association of the Faculty of Science of the University of Kelaniya was established in 1991 and Professor M J S Wijeyaratne, the present Vice Chancellor of the University of Kelaniya, was the founder president of the Association.

The Association, from its inception has been involved in numerous social and welfare activities including the awarding scholarships to undergraduate students, awarding gold medals to the best special degree graduates, organizing workshops and seminars to train and enhance the knowledge of G C E Advanced Level teachers and supporting career guidance activities of the undergraduates. These activities have been made possible due to unstint dedication and efforts of the office bears and the members of the Association. The seminars conducted for G C E Advanced Level teachers and students have been extremely successful. These seminars have helped the teachers to gain knowledge on the new sections introduced to G C E Advanced Level curriculum and also get a thorough training in the practical work pertaining to these sections. Such activities will undoubtedly help to develop the education of the younger generation of our nation.

The list of the past Presidents is as follows.

           1. Prof. M J S Wijeyaratne (Founder President, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994)
           2. Prof. D D S Kulatunga (1995, 1996, 1997)
           3. Prof. S R D Kalingamudali (1998, 1999, 2000)
           4. Dr. M Devendra (2001, 2002, 2003)
           5. Dr. H H Sumathipala (2004, 2005, 2006)
           6. Prof. Kapila Senevirathne (2007, 2008, 2009)
           7. Professor (Mrs) Janitha A. Liyanage (2010, 2011, 2012)


2008. All Rights Reserved. Alumni Association. Faculty of Science. University of Kelaniya , Sri Lanka. 

Tel: (+941)911916  Fax: (+941)2911485, 2911916